At this year's NetSci conference in Budapest I attended an evening talk which was called "An evening with Uri Alon". I did not know Uri Alon at this time so I did not know what to expect. What I got was a thirty minute talk about all the obstacles in science no one usually talks about. It was maybe the greatest talk I heard at his conference, even though the competition was very stiff.

Uri Alon has some visions on how science should be and how it can be improved. Fortunately the whole talk is on YouTube so I do not have the recap everything. It's 30 minutes, but worth the time.
More can be found on his homepage. I also recommend reading his papers on how to choose a good scientific problem and on how to give a good talk. The later is also available as a movie on his page. 



Leave a Reply.